Western University PsychologyFaculty of Social Science

Full Time Faculty

 

Research Interests

Natalie Allen

Dr. Natalie Allen
Professor
nallen@uwo.ca
SSC 8412
519-661-3013
Curriculum Vitae

Employee's organizational and occupational commitment
•Teams and work group

Daniel Ansari

Dr. Daniel Ansari
Professor
daniel.ansari@uwo.ca
WH 325 East
519-661-2111 ext. 80548
Curriculum Vitae

Developmental Cognitive Neuroscience
•Mind, Brain and Education
•Development of numerical and mathematical skills
•Developmental Dyscalculia

Mike Atkinson

Dr. Mike Atkinson
Associate Professor
atkinson@uwo.ca
SSC 6316
519-661-2111 ext. 84644

•Effective teaching in a large class format
•The use of multimedia in the classroom

Patrick Brown

Dr. Patrick Brown
Assistant Professor
brown5@uwo.ca
SSC 7328
519-661-2111 ext. 84680

•Cognitive

Rachel Calogero

Dr. Rachel Calogero
Associate Professor
rcaloger@uwo.ca
SSC 6304
519-661-2111 ext. 80403
Curriculum Vitae

Problems of (and solutions to):
system justification and social change
objectification of self and others
gender, sexism, inequality, and justice
body image, stigmatized bodies, and body-self attunement

Lorne Campbell

Dr. Lorne Campbell
Professor
lcampb23@uwo.ca
SSC 6328
519-661-2111 ext. 84904
Curriculum Vitae

•Romantic relationships:
   What we seek in potential partners
   What helps or hurts relationships

Adam Cohen

Dr. Adam Cohen
Assistant Professor
acohen42@uwo.ca
WH 323 East
519-661-2111 ext. 84596
Curriculum Vitae

how theory of mind and attention work, develop, and interface using behavioral and neuroimaging methods

Brian Corneil

Dr. Brian Corneil
Professor
bcorneil@uwo.ca
519-663-5777 ext. 34132
Curriculum Vitae

•Neurophysiological and behavioural studies of the neural control of movement

Jody Culham

Dr. Jody Culham
Professor
jculham@uwo.ca
NSC 207
519-661-2111 ext. 85643
Curriculum Vitae

•Neuroimaging of human brain regions involved in vision and hand actions

Rhodri Cusack

Dr. Rhodri Cusack
Associate Professor
rcusack@uwo.ca
NSC 203
Curriculum Vitae

•The emergence of cognition
•Neuroimaging in newborns and young infants
•Perinatal brain injury

David Dozois

Dr. David Dozois
Professor
(Chair-Clinical)
ddozois@uwo.ca
WH 313 East
519-661-2111 ext. 84678
Curriculum Vitae

•Cognitive vulnerability to depression
•Factors related to the onset, maintenance, improvement, and recurrence of depression

Vicki Esses

Dr. Victoria Esses
Professor
(Chair-Social)
vesses@uwo.ca
SSC 6312
519-661-2111 ext. 84650
Curriculum Vitae

•Immigration and Cultural Diversity
•Multiculturalism and Intergroup Relations
•Stereotypes, Prejudice and Discrimination

Joan Finegan

Dr. Joan Finegan
Associate Professor
(Associate Dean, Faculty of
Social Science)
finegan@uwo.ca
SSC 8413
519-661-2111 ext. 84932

How values influence ethical decisions in business and reactions to workplace injustice
•Job empowerment

William Fisher

Dr. William Fisher
Professor
fisher@uwo.ca
SSC 7428
519-661-2111 ext. 84665
Curriculum Vitae

•Psychological influences on sexual health behavior, including safer sex, and adherence to treatment for HIV+

Paul Frewen

Dr. Paul Frewen
Associate Professor
pfrewen@uwo.ca
(see also Department of Psychiatry)
519-685-8500 ext. 77760
Curriculum Vitae

•Psychobiology of Trauma-related Disorders

Richard Goffin

Dr. Richard Goffin
Professor
goffin@uwo.ca
SSC 8406
519-661-2111 ext. 84641
Curriculum Vitae

•Improving hiring decisions through pre-employment testing
•Improving job performance measurement by using relative ratings

Mel Goodale

Dr. Mel Goodale
Professor
mgoodale@uwo.ca
NSC 205
519-661-2070
Curriculum Vitae

•Visual perception and visually guided actions, using behavioral studies, fMRI, and neuropsychology

Jessica Grahn

Dr. Jessica Grahn
Associate Professor
(Chair Cognitive, Developmental and Brain Sciences)
jgrahn@uwo.ca
NSC 229
519-661-2111 ext. 84804
Curriculum Vitae

•Neuroscience of music

Paul Gribble

Dr. Paul Gribble
Professor
paul@gribblelab.org
NSC 228
519-661-2111 ext. 82237
Curriculum Vitae

•How the brain controls voluntary movement, and how movement is learned

Elizabeth Hampson

Dr. Elizabeth Hampson
Professor
ehampson@uwo.ca
SSC 9218
519-661-2111 ext. 84675
Curriculum Vitae

•Effects of androgens and estrogens in the human nervous system

Elizabeth Hayden

Dr. Elizabeth Hayden
Professorehayden@uwo.ca
WH 321 East
519-661-2111 ext. 83686
Curriculum Vitae

•Developmental psychopathology of mood disorders
•Assessment of temperament and personality

Doug Hazlewood

Dr. Doug Hazlewood
Assistant Professor
hazlewoo@uwo.ca
SSC 6330
519-661-2111 ext. 84663
Curriculum Vitae


•Thinking a little or a lot:
The role of actual and desired confidence

Dr. Erin Heerey

Dr. Erin Heerey
Associate Professor
eheerey@uwo.ca
SSC 6324
519-661-2111 ext. 86917
Curriculum Vitae

How people use and understand social cues during face-to-face interactions
Biological underpinnings of social behaviour
Social difficulties in clinical populations

Riley Hinson

Dr. Riley Hinson
Associate Professor
hinson@uwo.ca
SSC 7308
519-661-2111 ext. 84649
Curriculum Vitae

•The influence of psychological factors, particularly expectations, on drug (alcohol, tobacco) use in humans

Peter Hoaken

Dr. Peter Hoaken
Associate Professor
phoaken@uwo.ca
WH 320 East
519-661-2111 ext. 81332

•Human aggression and violent crime
•Alcohol and aggression
•Cognitive predictors of re-offending in male inmates

Debra Jared

Dr. Debra Jared
Professor
djjared@uwo.ca
SSC 7330
519-661-2111 ext. 84631
Curriculum Vitae

•Mental processes involved in skilled reading
•How these processes differ in mono versus bilingual individuals

Marc Joanisse

Dr. Marc Joanisse
Professor
(Associate Chair- Graduate Affairs)
marcj@uwo.ca
NSC 230
519-661-2111 ext. 86582
Curriculum Vitae

•How children acquire and their brains process first language
•Language impairment
•Dyslexia

Ingrid Johnsrude

Dr. Ingrid Johnsrude
Professor
NSC 227
519-661-2111 ext. 84447

•Diagnosing and treating hearing problems
•Hearing impairment
•Brain disease in the aging and elderly

Albert Katz

Dr. Albert Katz
Professor
katz@uwo.ca
SSC 7322
519-661-3681
Curriculum Vitae

•The processing of non-literal language, such as metaphor and irony
•The structure and recall of everyday/autobiographical memories

Martin Kavaliers

Dr. Martin Kavaliers
Professor
kavalier@uwo.ca
SSC 9246
519-661-2111 ext. 86084
Curriculum Vitae

•The neurobiology of social recognition
•Social attraction and biological defense mechanisms

Stefan Kohler

Dr. Stefan Köhler
Professor
stefank@uwo.ca
NSC 201
519-661-2111 ext. 86364
Curriculum Vitae

•The relationship between the cognitive and neural processes that allow humans
to remember their past

Nicholas Kuiper

Dr. Nicholas Kuiper
Professor
kuiper@uwo.ca

WH 309 East
519-661-2111 ext. 84652
Curriculum Vitae

•Humor and psychological well-being
•Implicit theories of depression

Steve Lomber

Dr. Steve Lomber
Professor
steve.lomber@uwo.ca
SSC 9252
519-661-2111 ext. 80485
Curriculum Vitae

•How does experience influence brain development?
•Cortical processing in hearing and deaf individuals

Steve Lupker

Dr. Steve Lupker
Professor
lupker@uwo.ca
SSC 7324
519-661-2111 ext. 84700
Curriculum Vitae

•Understanding the processes involved in perceiving and identifying words and pictures

Scott Macdougall-Shackleton

Dr. Scott MacDougall-Shackleton
Professor
(Department Chair)
smacdou2@uwo.ca
SSC 7412
519-661-2111 ext. 82066
Curriculum Vitae

•How hormones and the brain respond to environmental cues to coordinate behaviour, primarily in songbirds

Ken McRae

Dr. Ken McRae
Professor
kenm@uwo.ca
SSC 7332
519-661-2111 ext. 84688
Curriculum Vitae

•How people understand language

John Meyer

Dr. John Meyer
Professor
(Chair-I/O)
meyer@uwo.ca

SSC 8411
519-661-3679
Curriculum Vitae

•Work attitudes and motivation
•Development and consequences of employee commitment

Paul Minda

Dr. Paul Minda
Associate Professor
jpminda@uwo.ca
SSC 7326
519-661-2111 ext. 84689
Curriculum Vitae

•How people learn about categories and concepts and how conceptual structure influences behaviours like thinking, problem solving, and decision making

Bruce Morton

Dr. J. Bruce Morton
Associate Professor
bmorton3@uwo.ca
WH 324 East
519-661-2111 ext. 84795
Curriculum Vitae

•The development of self-regulation and control, and its link with changes in brain function in children and teens

Richard Neufeld

Dr. Richard W. J. (Jim) Neufeld
Professor
rneufeld@uwo.ca
WH 310 East
519-661-3696
Curriculum Vitae

•Using mathematical modeling to better understand psychological stress and coping
Cognitive functioning in schizophrenia

James Olson

Dr. James Olson
Professor
jolson@uwo.ca
SSC 6332
519-661-2111 ext. 84637
Curriculum Vitae

•Attitude change
•The function and measurement of attitudes
•The social psychology of justice
•Social comparison

Peter Ossenkopp

Dr. Klaus-Peter Ossenkopp
Professor
ossenkop@uwo.ca
SSC 9248
519-661-2111 ext. 84656
Curriculum Vitae

•Biological defense mechanisms, immune system and behavior, gustatory learning, animal models of psychopathology, animal models of addiction

Adrian Owen

Dr. Adrian Owen
Professor
uwocerc@uwo.ca
NSC 224
519-661-2111 ext. 84672
Curriculum Vitae

•Disorders of consciousness
•Neurodegenerative diseases
•Frontostriatal systems
•Web-based cognitive assessment

Andrew Pruszynski
Dr. Andrew Pruszynski
Assistant Professor
519-663-5777 x. 24384
•neural basis of reaching and grasping
•neural basis of somatosensory processing
Graham Reid

Dr. Graham Reid
Associate Professor
greid@uwo.ca
WH 319 East
519-661-2111 ext. 84677
Curriculum Vitae

(see also Department
of Family Medicine)
•How families access mental health services for children or teens
•Teaching parenting skills
•Child sleep problems

Don Saklofske

Dr. Don Saklofske
Professor
dsaklofs@uwo.ca
SSC 7314
519-661-2111 ext. 82721
Curriculum Vitae

•Individual differences with a particular emphasis on personality and intelligence, including emotional intelligence

David Sherry

Dr. David Sherry
Professor
sherry@uwo.ca
SSC 9214
519-661-2111 ext. 84659
Curriculum Vitae

•The neuroscience of animal cognition, spatial ability, and time perception in birds and insects

Ryan Stevenson

Dr. Ryan Stevenson
Assistant Professor
rsteve28@uwo.ca
WH 314 East
519-661-2111 ext. 81182
Curriculum Vitae

Visual and auditory sensory perception
Developmental cognitive neuroscience
Autism
How perception influences the development of cognition and social communication

Leora Swartzman

Dr. Leora Swartzman
Associate Professor
(Associate Chair-Undergraduate Affairs)
lswartzm@uwo.ca
WH 312 East
519-661-2111 ext. 84654
Curriculum Vitae

•The impact of beliefs and expectations on how we experience and respond to physical symptoms and illness

Paul Tremblay

Dr. Paul Tremblay
Assistant Professor
ptrembla@uwo.ca
SSC 6336
519-661-2111 ext. 85644
Curriculum Vitae

•Structural equation and multilevel modeling
•Longitudinal methods
•Test construction

Lynne Zarbatany

Dr. Lynne Zarbatany
Associate Professor
(Chair Developmental)
lynnez@uwo.ca
WH 322 East
519-661-3664
Curriculum Vitae

•How friendships and peer groups affect children's psychological adjustment and behavior