sample image


Full Time Faculty

 

Dr. Natalie Allen
nallen@uwo.ca
SSC 8412
519-661-3013
Curriculum Vitae

Industrial/Organizational
Employee's organizational and occupational commitment
•Teams and work group


Dr. Daniel Ansari
daniel.ansari@uwo.ca
WH 325 East
519-661-2111 ext. 80548
Curriculum Vitae


Developmental
Developmental Cognitive Neuroscience
•Mind, Brain and Education
•Development of numerical and mathematical skills
•Developmental Dyscalculia

Dr. Mike Atkinson
atkinson@uwo.ca
SSC 6316
519-661-2111 ext. 84644

•Effective teaching in a large class format
•The use of multimedia in the classroom

Dr. Patrick Brown
brown5@uwo.ca
SSC 7328
519-661-2111 ext. 84680

•Cognitive


Dr. Lorne Campbell
lcampb23@uwo.ca
SSC 6328
519-661-2111 ext. 84904
Curriculum Vitae


Social
•Romantic relationships:
   What we seek in potential partners
   What helps or hurts relationships

Dr. Adam Cohen
acohen42@uwo.ca
WH 323 East
519-661-2111 ext. 84596
Curriculum Vitae

Developmental
how theory of mind and attention work, develop, and interface using behavioral and neuroimaging methods

Dr. Brian Corneil
bcorneil@uwo.ca
519-663-5777 ext. 34132
Curriculum Vitae

Behavioral and Cognitive
Neuroscience

•Neurophysiological and behavioural studies of the neural control of movement

Dr. Jody Culham
jculham@uwo.ca
NSC 207
519-661-3979
Curriculum Vitae

Behavioral and Cognitive
Neuroscience

•Neuroimaging of human brain regions involved in vision and hand actions

Dr. Rhodri Cusack
rcusack@uwo.ca
NSC 203
Curriculum Vitae

Behavioral and Cognitive
Neuroscience

Auditory and visual attention, memory & imagery
New methods for neuroimaging

Dr. David Dozois
(Chair-Clinical)
ddozois@uwo.ca
WH 313 East
519-661-2111 ext. 84678
Curriculum Vitae

Clinical
•Cognitive vulnerability to depression
•Factors related to the onset, maintenance, improvement, and recurrence of depression

Dr. Vicki Esses
vesses@uwo.ca
SSC 6312
519-661-2111 ext. 84650
Curriculum Vitae

Social
•Prejudice and Discrimination
•Attitudes toward immigrants, immigration and cultural diversity
•Multiculturalism and relations among ethnic groups in Canada

Dr. Stefan Everling
severlin@uwo.ca
EB-10 RRI
519-685-8500
ext. 834359
Curriculum Vitae

Behavioral and Cognitive
Neuroscience

•Organization of the primate prefrontal cortex
•Saccadic eye movements

Dr. Joan Finegan
(Associate Dean, Faculty of Social Science) finegan@uwo.ca
SSC 8413
519-661-2111 ext. 84932

Industrial/Organizational
How values influence ethical decisions in business and reactions to workplace injustice
•Job empowerment

Dr. William Fisher
fisher@uwo.ca
SSC 7426
519-661-2111 ext. 84665
Curriculum Vitae

Social
•Psychological influences on sexual health behavior, including safer sex, and adherence to treatment for HIV+

Dr. Paul Frewen
pfrewen@uwo.ca
(see also Department of Psychiatry)
519-685-8500 ext. 77760
Curriculum Vitae

Personality and Measurement
•Psychobiology of Trauma-related Disorders

Dr. Richard Goffin
goffin@uwo.ca
SSC 8406
519-661-2111 ext. 84641
Curriculum Vitae

Industrial/Organizational
•Improving hiring decisions through pre-employment testing
•Improving job performance measurement by using relative ratings

Dr. Mel Goodale
mgoodale@uwo.ca
NSC 205
519-661-2070
Curriculum Vitae

Behavioral and Cognitive
Neuroscience

•Visual perception and visually guided actions, using behavioral studies, fMRI, and neuropsychology

Dr. Jessica Grahn
jgrahn@uwo.ca
NSC 229
519-661-2111 ext. 84804
Curriculum Vitae

Behavioral and Cognitive
Neuroscience
and Cognition
•Neuroscience of music

Dr. Paul Gribble
paul@gribblelab.org
NSC 243
519-661-2111 ext. 82237
Curriculum Vitae

Behavioral and Cognitive
Neuroscience

•How the brain controls voluntary movement, and how movement is learned

Dr. Elizabeth Hampson ehampson@uwo.ca
SSC 9218
519-661-2111 ext. 84675
Curriculum Vitae

Behavioral and Cognitive
Neuroscience

•How reproductive and adrenal hormones influence human behaviour and cognition

Dr. Elizabeth Hayden ehayden@uwo.ca
WH 321 East
519-661-2111 ext. 83686
Curriculum Vitae

Clinical
•Developmental psychopathology of mood disorders
•Assessment of temperament and personality

Dr. Doug Hazlewood
hazlewoo@uwo.ca
SSC 6330
519-661-2111 ext. 84663
Curriculum Vitae


•Thinking a little or a lot:
The role of actual and desired confidence

Dr. Riley Hinson
hinson@uwo.ca
SSC 7308
519-661-2111 ext. 84649
Curriculum Vitae

Behavioral and Cognitive
Neuroscience

•The influence of psychological factors, particularly expectations, on drug (alcohol, tobacco) use in humans

Dr. Peter Hoaken
phoaken@uwo.ca
WH 320 East
519-661-2111 ext. 81332


Clinical
•Human aggression and violent crime
•Alcohol and aggression
•Cognitive predictors of re-offending in male inmates

Dr. Debra Jared
djjared@uwo.ca
SSC 7330
519-661-2111 ext. 84631
Curriculum Vitae

Cognition
•Mental processes involved in skilled reading
•How these processes differ in mono versus bilingual individuals


Dr. Marc Joanisse
(Associate Chair- Graduate Affairs)
marcj@uwo.ca
NSC 230
519-661-2111 ext. 86582
Curriculum Vitae

Cognition
•How children acquire and their brains process first language
•Language impairment
•Dyslexia


Dr. Ingrid Johnsrude
NSC 227
519-661-2111 ext. 84447


Behavioral and Cognitive
Neuroscience

•Diagnosing and treating hearing problems
•Hearing impairment
•Brain disease in the aging and elderly

Dr. Albert Katz
katz@uwo.ca
SSC 7322
519-661-3681
Curriculum Vitae

Cognition
•The processing of non-literal language, such as metaphor and irony
•The structure and recall of everyday/autobiographical memories

Dr. Martin Kavaliers
kavalier@uwo.ca
SSC 9246
519-661-2111 ext. 86084
Curriculum Vitae

Behavioral and Cognitive
Neuroscience

•The neurobiology of social recognition
•Social attraction and biological defense mechanisms

Dr. Stefan Köhler
stefank@uwo.ca
NSC 201
519-661-2111 ext. 86364
Curriculum Vitae

Behavioral and Cognitive
Neuroscience

•The relationship between the cognitive and neural processes that allow humans
to remember their past

Dr. Nicholas Kuiper
kuiper@uwo.ca

WH 309 East
519-661-2111 ext. 84652
Curriculum Vitae

Clinical
•Humor and psychological well-being
•Implicit theories of depression

Dr. Steve Lomber
steve.lomber@uwo.ca
SSC 9252
519-661-2111 ext. 80485
Curriculum Vitae

Behavioral and Cognitive
Neuroscience

•How does experience influence brain development?
•Cortical processing in hearing and deaf individuals

Dr. Steve Lupker
lupker@uwo.ca
SSC 7324
519-661-2111 ext. 84700
Curriculum Vitae

Cognition
•Understanding the processes involved in perceiving and identifying words and pictures


Dr. Scott MacDougall-Shackleton
(Department Chair)
smacdou2@uwo.ca
AFAR 200
519-661-2111 ext. 84629
Curriculum Vitae

Behavioral and Cognitive
Neuroscience

•How hormones and the brain respond to environmental cues to coordinate behaviour, primarily in songbirds

Dr. Derrick MacFabe
(Director: Kilee Patchell-Evans Autism Research Group)
dmacfabe@uwo.ca
SSC 9244
519-661-2111 ext. 84703

Behavioral and Cognitive
Neuroscience

•Neurobiology of Autism Spectrum Disorders
•Infectious and metabolic causes of neuropsychiatric disorders
•Neurobiology of concussive brain injury

Dr. Rod Martin
ramartin@uwo.ca
WH 311 East
519- 661-3665
Curriculum Vitae

Clinical
•The psychology of humour:
   Is humour an adaptive coping strategy?
   How to measure humour

Dr. Ken McRae
kenm@uwo.ca
SSC 7332
519-661-2111 ext. 84688
Curriculum Vitae

Cognition
•How people understand language

Dr. John Meyer
(Chair-I/O)
meyer@uwo.ca

SSC 8411
519-661-3679
Curriculum Vitae

Industrial/ Organizational
•Work attitudes and motivation
•Development and consequences of employee commitment

Dr. Paul Minda
jpminda@uwo.ca
SSC 7326
519-661-2111 ext. 84689
Curriculum Vitae

Cognition
•How people learn about categories and concepts and how conceptual structure influences behaviours like thinking, problem solving, and decision making

Dr. Greg Moran
gmoran2@uwo.ca
WH 321 East
519-661-2111 ext. 80106

Developmental
Clinical
•How the attachment relationship between a parent and infant influences later social and emotional health

Dr. J. Bruce Morton
bmorton3@uwo.ca
WH 324 East
519-661-2111 ext. 84795
Curriculum Vitae

Developmental
•The development of self-regulation and control, and its link with changes in brain function in children and teens

Dr. Richard Neufeld
rneufeld@uwo.ca
WH 310 East
519-661-3696
Curriculum Vitae

Clinical
•Using mathematical modeling to better understand psychological stress and coping
Cognitive functioning in schizophrenia


Dr. James Olson
(Chair-Social)
jolson@uwo.ca
SSC 6332
519-661-2111 ext. 84637
Curriculum Vitae

Social
•Attitude change
•The function and measurement of attitudes
•The social psychology of justice
•Social comparison

Dr. Klaus-Peter Ossenkopp
(Chair-BCN)
ossenkop@uwo.ca
SSC 9248
519-661-2111 ext. 84656
Curriculum Vitae

Behavioral and Cognitive
Neuroscience

•Biological defense mechanisms, immune system and behavior, gustatory learning, animal models of psychopathology, animal models of addiction

Dr. Adrian Owen
uwocerc@uwo.ca
NSC 224
519-661-2111 ext. 84672
Curriculum Vitae

Behavioral and Cognitive
Neuroscience

•Disorders of consciousness
•Neurodegenerative diseases
•Frontostriatal systems
•Web-based cognitive assessment

Dr. Sampo Paunonen
paunonen@uwo.ca
SSC 6304
519-661-2060
Curriculum Vitae

Personality and Measurement
•The accuracy of our judgments of others' personalities
•Measuring personality via written and non-verbal measures

Dr. Graham Reid
greid@uwo.ca
WH 319 East
519-661-2111 ext. 84677
Curriculum Vitae

Clinical
(see also Department
of Family Medicine)
•How families access mental health services for children or teens
•Teaching parenting skills
•Child sleep problems

Dr. Don Saklofske
dsaklofs@uwo.ca
SSC 7314
519-661-2111 ext. 82721
Curriculum Vitae

Pesonality and Measurement
•Individual differences with a particular emphasis on personality and intelligence, including emotional intelligence

Dr. Clive Seligman
seligman@uwo.ca
SSC 8405
519-661-2111 ext. 84666
Curriculum Vitae

Social
•Cognitive and social processes underlying ethical decision making (e.g., about environmental, reproductive issues)

Dr. David Sherry
sherry@uwo.ca
SSC 9214
519-661-2111 ext. 84659
Curriculum Vitae

Behavioral and Cognitive
Neuroscience

•The neuroscience of animal cognition, spatial ability, and time perception in birds and insects

Dr. Leora Swartzman
(Associate Chair-Undergraduate Affairs)
lswartzm@uwo.ca
WH 312 East
519-661-2111 ext. 84654
Curriculum Vitae

Clinical
•The impact of beliefs and expectations on how we experience and respond to physical symptoms and illness

Dr. Brian Timney
(Dean, Faculty of Social Science)
timney@uwo.ca
SSC 9438
519-661-2053

Behavioral and Cognitive
Neuroscience

•Human vision, with a focus on the effect of alcohol, and binocular vision
•The visual system in horses and camels

Dr. Paul Tremblay
ptrembla@uwo.ca
SSC 6336
519-661-2111 ext. 85644
Curriculum Vitae

Personality and Measurement
•Structural equation and multilevel modeling
•Longitudinal methods
•Test construction

Dr. Tony Vernon
(Chair-Personality &
Measurement)

vernon@uwo.ca
SSC 6302
519-661-3682
Curriculum Vitae

Personality and Measurement
•Environmental and genetic influences on intelligence and personality, by way of studies with twins

Dr. Tutis Vilis
tutis.vilis@schulich.uwo.ca
(see also Department of
Physiology
)
NSC 240
519-661-3830

Behavioral and Cognitive
Neuroscience

•The function and interaction of brain areas involved in vision and directing motor actions

Dr. Athena Xenikou
axenikou@uwo.ca
SSC 8408
519-661-2111 ext. 87762
Curriculum Vitae

Industrial/ Organizational

•Leadership, organizational culture, motivation, employee well-being, commitment and identification

Dr. Lynne Zarbatany
(Chair-Developmental)
lynnez@uwo.ca

WH 322 East
519-661-3664
Curriculum Vitae

Developmental
•How friendships and peer groups affect children's psychological adjustment and behavior