Western University PsychologyFaculty of Social Science

Emeriti

Peter Cain

Dr. Peter Cain
cain@uwo.ca

Cognitive, Developmental, and Brain Sciences
•Neural basis of learning and memory
•Animal models of
alzheimer's, schizophrenia, and autism

Dr. Peter Denny
denny@uwo.ca
SSC 7301
519-661-2111 ext. 80313

Cognitive, Developmental, and Brain Sciences
•Cross-cultural differences
in cognitive styles
•Groups studied include Ojibway
hunters and Lebanese farmers

Robert Gardner

Dr. Robert Gardner
gardner@uwo.ca
SSC 6334
519-661-3670

Social and Personality
•How attitudes and motivation
influence the learning of a
second (or foreign) language
Statistics and Data Analysis

Rod Martin

Dr. Rod Martin
Professor
ramartin@uwo.ca
WH 311 East
519- 661-3665

Clinical Science and Psychopathology

•The psychology of humour:
   Is humour an adaptive coping strategy?
   How to measure humour

Greg Moran

Dr. Greg Moran
gmoran2@uwo.ca

Cognitive, Developmental, and Brain Sciences
Clinical
•How the attachment relationship between a parent and infant influences later social and emotional health

Dr. Harry Murray
murray@uwo.ca

•Teacher effectiveness -
how to measure it,
and contextual influences
•Educational assessment &
evaluation

David Pederson

Dr. David Pederson
pederson@uwo.ca
SSC 6218
519-661-2111 ext. 84660

Cognitive, Developmental, and Brain Sciences
•How the relationship between
caregiver and infant (attachment)
influences later social and
emotional health

Susan Pepper

Dr. Susan Pepper
pepper@uwo.ca
SSC 8410
519-661-2111 ext. 84635

Industrial/Organizational
•How leaders persuade others in their organizations to accept their vision and to work enthusiastically

William Roberts

Dr. William Roberts
roberts@uwo.ca
SSC 7310
519-661-2111 ext. 84686

Cognitive, Developmental, and Brain Sciences
•Metacognition, mental time travel, and other cognitive processes in rats, pigeons, and dogs

Gary Rollman

Dr. Gary Rollman
rollman@uwo.ca

Cognitive, Developmental, and Brain Sciences
•Pain measurement and control in humans, in both clinical and laboratory settings

Clive Seligman

Dr. Clive Seligman
Professor
seligman@uwo.ca
SSC 8405
519-661-2111 ext. 84666

Social and Personality

•Cognitive and social processes underlying ethical decision making (e.g., about environmental, reproductive issues)

Marvin Simner

Dr. Marvin Simner
msimner@uwo.ca
SSC 7334
519-661-2111 ext. 84693

Cognitive, Developmental, and Brain Sciences
•Developing ways to identify
and help preschool children
at risk of early school failure
•Detecting written forgeries

Richard Sorrentino

Dr. Richard Sorrentino
rsorrent@uwo.ca

Social and Personality
•The interface between cognition and motivation
•Uncertainty regulation: the master motive

Brian Timney

Dr. Brian Timney
Professor
timney@uwo.ca
SSC 9438
519-661-2053

Cognitive, Developmental, and Brain Sciences

Graduate Program in Neuroscience

•Human vision, with a focus on the effect of alcohol, and binocular vision
•The visual system in horses and camels

Tony Vernon

Dr. Tony Vernon
Professor
vernon@uwo.ca
SSC 6302
519-661-3682

Social and Personality

•Environmental and genetic influences on intelligence and personality, by way of studies with twins

Dr. Tutis Vilis
tutis.vilis@schulich.uwo.ca
(see also Department of
Physiology
)
NSC 240
519-661-3830

Cognitive, Developmental, and Brain Sciences
•The function and interaction of brain areas involved in vision and directing motor actions